Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Will be moving to secodnary soon

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2007, 12:29 AM   #1
cvav8or
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Will be moving to secodnary soon

Quick update for anyone who cares. I brewed on Saturday the 17th and the SG was 1.038-1.040. Now on tuesday it is 1.024 and if it remains the same for another two days I will move to my secondary. I drank the sample after I took the reading and it actually tasted like beer and had a beautiful brown color, I am so stoked and can't wait to drink my first brew.

cvav8or

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2007, 12:46 AM   #2
Boston Brewer

Recipes 

What is the recipe? I'm a total beginner as well, but based on what I have read around here, it seems like you should be targeting a final gravity of around 1.010. Assuming no additional fermentation takes place, it seems like you got pretty low attenuation.

But again, total beginner here... I hope I'm wrong.

Old 11-21-2007, 12:52 AM   #3
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 85 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I second what BB said. You shouldn't rack until your gravity is 1.010. Racking this soon does not benefit the brew in any way. It's actually just a waste of time until the gravity has dropped.

Old 11-21-2007, 01:05 AM   #4
teu1003
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

You are not near finishing this ferment. You want to be close to 25% of OG, that is, about 1.010 on a 1.040 beer. At 24, your beer will be cloyingly sweet and not very alcoholic (about 2.1% abv)

Be patient, your yeast has work to do. Three days is kinda quick to even go near the room where your beer is.

Old 11-21-2007, 02:34 AM   #5
cvav8or
Recipes 

Default I was a bit premature