Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Will extra time in the primary hurt?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2008, 01:55 PM   #1
planenut
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Will extra time in the primary hurt?

I am a corporate pilot and travel a lot.

I wonder if after 2-3 weeks when fermenting is done, if I am not home for a week and it sits a little long, will it do any damage or will it just help it mature?

I am planning on a pale ale and brewing from extract and not using a secondary for my first batch.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2008, 02:00 PM   #2
ajf
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 93 Posts
Likes Given: 39

No problem at all unless you leave it in the primary for several months. It will give the yeasts time to clean up after themselves.

-a.

Old 08-29-2008, 02:43 PM   #3
zac
Thread Killer

Recipes 

Liked 153 Times on 150 Posts

Planenut,

my job regularly takes me away from home for 2+ weeks at a time. I've never had any problem with leaving beer in primary or secondary for months at a time. During the summer I rotuinely leave beer in the chest freezer for well over a month in primary. The 1/2/3 method works, but most of the time i use the 1 month / 2 month /3 month theory.

Time only helps, as long as temps are controlled & everything is sanitary enough.

cheers.
zac

Old 08-29-2008, 03:10 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2767 Times on 1657 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

I leave my beer in primary for a month, and my beer is much better that way,

Here's why;

From John Palmer's book "how to brew":

Quote: