Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Why does my extract brew suck?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2010, 08:06 AM   #1
Brasco20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Why does my extract brew suck?

Ive been brewing for around 8 months now and my brews havent been the best. The first batch was infected, so i switched to star san and fixed the sour problem. The rest of my brews, some better than others, have all been just ok, or just plain suck, dont taste infected, just like not very good beer.
I use a yeast starter, and just recently started using a stir plate. Do a 60 min boil and just add the hops and lme when the kit says to. I boil 2.5 gallons of bottled spring water, and put the other 2.5 in the freezer to help get the temp down when im finished with the boil. My pitching temps are always good. My house is set at 67 so i figure that my ferm temps are ok.

When i sanitize my carboy and my kegs there is always an excessive amount of foam left from the star san, could this be a problem?
Also i primary 4 weeks then keg, set the keg to 30 psi for 3 or 4 days, then back it off to 10, once its carbed i start to drink it. Am i drinking it too soon? I dont strain the wort or use a hop bag, could this be a problem?

Any ideas for me, let me know if you need more info.

Thanks for any help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2010, 09:43 AM   #2
dmfa200
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

For a long time I couldn't understand why my beer wasn't up to par.
I finally discovered it was my water. I got a water filter and also use brewing salts to adjust my Chloride/Sulfate ratio.
Have you looked at your cities water report?
Use this to find out if your water is good for brewing.
http://www.brewersfriend.com/water-chemistry/

I don't know what you said, but your wrong.

Old 12-28-2010, 09:50 AM   #3
MetallHed
Recipes