why do so many people F with kit beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spam

Reaction score
I am still a noob so don't take this as harsh...but I read soooo many posts about people adding all kinds of crap to their kit beer,,stuff like coca powder,mint,honey,candy,,and much more. And then they post about "off flavors",,, Well DUH !!! I have never had a commercial beer witch was "flavored" that I enjoyed. I like beer to taste like beer not candy. maybe I am missing something?

Some of us like to think out of the box and experiment, I dunno, I thought thats what made home brewing a hobby for me, being able to take a beer an make it my own. I can not afford a mash tun nore can I afford everything yet for all grain, so therefore I use kit beer.

Different strokes for different folks.

After a few years and many, many batches of beer, you'll get tired (very likely ...) of kit beers and other people's recipes. Then you'll be one of the people suggesting all sorts of things to add to beer.

One of my two current batches has orange zest and corriander and it's a recipe I dreamt up from an ingredients list on a commercial beer. Let's just that I hope it's the start of something new and exciting, but if not, well, I have other things I can add to beer to try and do some damage to my liver!

I think the same exact way. I want beer, not mint (or who knows what other flavor) with beer in the background.

Do I always brew beer true to style though? No, but I don't go crazy overboard with things. Right now I'm drinking a Saison brewed with American 2-row and a fair amount of American late addition hops, but it's still damn good and tastes like a Saison.