Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Why do people boil water to steralize for yeast washing?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2013, 09:00 PM   #1
LateraLex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default Why do people boil water to steralize for yeast washing?

I am starting to wash yeast and I noticed a lot of people boil the water before dumping it into the fermenter. Why is this necessary? In the cases of partial boils, tap water is poured directly into a fermenter - under the assumption that tap water is clean.

By the same extension, wouldn't tap water poured into a sanitized vessel be suitable for yeast washing?

Part 2 - From the attached picture - what level would you guys pour off into mason jars? This was from a kolsh I brewed, and it looks like 90% of what settled is trub and not yeast? This is my first time doing it.

img_20130122_160842.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 09:05 PM   #2
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 477 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

Chances are your tap water is loaded with chlorine. You would boil it to remove some of that (at least), or filter it, or hit it with campden tablets to remove it. I won't drink/cook with tap water from pretty much anywhere on a city water supply (unless they have really good filters installed before the faucets).

For pouring off, I'd cold crash that jar for a day or three, so it gets more compact. Then decant most of the liquid off the top before breaking it down into smaller jars. Depending on how it settles, you could get a good definition of what's yeast and what's not.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA
Waiting/Carbonating: 12.5% Wee Honey II, 8.9% Old Ale, English Brown Ale, Lickah ESB, Mocha Porter II
Fermenting
K1:
K2: Epic mead
K3: TripSix