Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Why did my beer fizz all out over everywhere

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2011, 02:22 AM   #1
kiwiguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Why did my beer fizz all out over everywhere

Hi there

This was my first bottle I have ever opened of my own home brew. I only started brewing at christmas time .

There was much excitement for me when I decided to open my first bottle on Saturday night, its been in the bottle approx 7 weeks . I had the beer bottled in the grolsch style bottles, 750ml. The moment I opened the lid the beer came firing out with such force, it was though I had shaken and shaken a bottle of bubbly. I PROBABLY LOST HALF OF THE BOTTLE BEFORE IT STOPPED!!

I didnt over carbonate. I put in the 2 drops as suggested for a 650ml bottle. Whats gone wrong ??

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2011, 02:27 AM   #2
Tall_Yotie
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 8

I am unfamiliar with the drops you are referring to, but I figure it was some form of priming sugar tablets.

After the beer exploded everywhere, did you pour the beer into a glass? Did it seem to still be carbed and tasty?

Was the bottle room temp or cooled? Take a beer and stick it in the fridge, or to cool it fast stick it in ice water with some salt. A cold beer is less likely to go everywhere than a warm beer.

I have an imperial stout that foams over if it is not in the fridge. I had this happen at a tasting, a bit embarrassing. It is perfectly tasty and awesome, it just foams for some reason.

Try one chilled (not just 10 minutes in the fridge, either a couple hours or 15 minutes in the ice mixture) and tell us how it turned out.

Old 03-14-2011, 02:38 AM   #3
jonmohno
Recipes 

Liked 410 Times on 361 Posts
Likes Given: 1207