Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Who are you and why are you in my beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2009, 03:01 AM   #1
jjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Who are you and why are you in my beer?

So I'm new to homebrewing - I've brewed about 4 or 5 extract recipes and I'm having a great time. The first 3 that I've bottled and started drinking have given me mixed results.

The first (a steam beer) turned out cloud. Unfortunately, people (including me) don't like the taste of it. It didn't turn out anywhere close to how it should have - it's not bad, but it's not good and tastes far from how it should.

The second (a belgian blond), turned out great - tastes exactly as it should and every seems to like it quite a bit. My only "issue" with it is that it's also a bit cloudy - which I wouldn't have expected for this style necessarily.

The last (an extra pale ale), turned out similar to the steam beer - very cloudy with some off-flavors. Both the pale and the steam have a "vegetabley" aftertaste - kind of like celery.

My question is this - what is the veggie taste, and more importantly, how do I get rid of it? Second, any idea how get rid of the cloudiness I've seen in the first couple of beers?

Any help you can provide is MUCH appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2009, 03:03 AM   #2
Parker36
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Recipes? What kind of extract are you using?

Old 09-14-2009, 03:05 AM   #3
Nurmey
I love making Beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 6

How long are you fermenting and at what temperature?

Old 09-14-2009, 03:06 AM   #4
jjacobs
Recipes 

Here are the recipes I used - they're from Northern Brewer:

Blonde: Lefse Blond Extract Kit

Pale: Extra Pale Ale Extract Kit

Steam: California Common Extract Kit