Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > white labs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2008, 12:53 AM   #1
delweaver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default white labs

This is my second batch as a noob, my kit came with white labs liquid yeast it says on the vial: Remove yeast from fridge 3 -6 hours prior to pitching. Kettle is already boiling should i stop brewing or keep going and pitch whenever beer is ready.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2008, 01:02 AM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 607 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 54

Take it out of the fridge now. Pitch it when the batch has cooled. Expect a long lag time (at least 12 hours, perhaps 36 or more).

Read up on liquid yeast and yeast starters so you're more prepared next time.

Old 04-17-2008, 05:06 AM   #3
Bosh
Recipes 

In the future make starters with liquid yeasts, especially with lagers and big beers. Making starters is annoying so I generally use dry yeast whenever possible since its easier.

On deck: Oatmeal Stout
Primary: Bourbon Red Ale
Bottled: Dunkelweizen and Dunkel

Old 04-17-2008, 04:52 PM   #4
Hoosierbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I have been using liquid yeast for awhile. I have not used starters though. I am going to use a starter for a batch next week. My American wheat took about 36 hours until I saw some activity. I have noticed that almost every time with liquid yeast. I always assumed that liquid was better than dry yeast. I am not convinced it has been.

Unless the style of beer is yeast dependent, I cannot say that I have seen as much of a difference as I would want for the extra cost of liquid versus dry. I plan to go back to dry for my pale ales, IPA's, brown ales and stouts.