Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > When should i take my first reading?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
jonnyp1980
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default When should i take my first reading?

It's day 5 soon to be 6 my IPA went into primary it still bubbles once every min. When should I start taking my readings? I'm racking into a secondary once my fg is met. (dry hopping whole leaf)

http://www.youtube.com/user/Homebrew...?feature=watch

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2012, 04:29 PM   #2
1KD1
Recipes 

Technically, you could take one now. Everybody has different opinions but the Idea is to get three readings that show no change.

I am still new to this so I let mine sit in the primary for at least 2-3 weeks before bothering it.

Old 04-12-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
PIGMAN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 18

You can dry hop right in the primary and avoid racking. You can take a reading now, but it will be more crucial when you bottle or keg. Like the previous poster said, consistent readings over several days.

Old 04-12-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
jonnyp1980
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by PIGMAN
You can dry hop right in the primary and avoid racking. You can take a reading now, but it will be more crucial when you bottle or keg. Like the previous poster said, consistent readings over several days.
I'm bottling and was hoping that syphoning would cut the excess of sediment down to a minimum. Thoughts.

Old 04-12-2012, 04:46 PM   #5
hnsfeigel
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts