Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > When to quit the kit?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2012, 09:58 PM   #1
dkziemann
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default When to quit the kit?

Hey everyone,

Apologies if this has been addressed numerous times. I'm about to start my second beer and am wondering, when am I ready to quit the kit? I'm a jazz musician, and I see a TON of similarities between brewing and music-- having patience, a personal style and "flavor," being able to improvise, and having an intuition in different unfamiliar situations.

With that being said, I totally understand that brewing is an artform which requires a lot of time to develop a thorough knowledge of. I'm expecting this to take at least 5-10 brews before I have a decent (limited) understanding of how beer brewing works. However, is it to my benefit to get away from the ingredient kits as soon as possible? Should I try recipes online and mix ingredients from scratch? Right now I'm just a college kid doing this in my apartment, so space is somewhat of an issue. I have the true brew K6 kit btw.

So, when to quit the ingredient kit? Would it be more beneficial for me to search out recipes and try to make it from scratch? Is the kit just going to be a crutch and hold me back in the long run? Thanks everyone!

Dan

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 10:07 PM   #2
JonK331
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 6