The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What it takes to go PRO! ? !

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2011, 03:02 PM   #1
madbird1977
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default What it takes to go PRO! ? !

Okay, I'm a novice homebrewer but kinda already have the bug that I want to do this someday as a profession. Maybe start as a nano brewer, then if it works out a brewpub...

So for those that do work in the brewing industry what is the best path to take?

Education: Siebel? Other programs?
Get a job working at a brewpub, cleaning and asking questions?

For a nano brewery; is it easier to get started or is it the same as a full fledge brewery?

I know this is very general and I've got a few brews in me but just interested in hearing what others have done. I've got a ton of research to do, I know but this forum is a great starting point to get me going in the right direction...I hope!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2011, 03:46 PM   #2
Malintent
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 5

technically, all you need is a liquor license to produce for sale. Laws vary by state - in NY it is simply a matter of paying a fee and waiting 6 months for the piece of paper in the mail... I think. All your state wants is their share of the tax you will owe them on sales. Then you need someone to buy your beer... someone who doesn't care if their commercial beer distributor gets miffed that a tap is being taken up by something they aren't selling. So, basically you need to open your own bar too.

BEFORE all of that, though, you will need to produce great beer consistently.

Old 04-20-2011, 03:56 PM   #3
lostboysbrew
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Find out the local laws........if there is no restriction on self-distribution all you need is a microbrew license and someone willing to put your beer on tap/on shelves.