Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What style should I try next?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2011, 03:53 PM   #1
BetterSense
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default What style should I try next?

I just started brewing. This is my legacy:

Extract stout (flopped)
Extract stout (flopped)
Extract stout (turned out ok)
All-grain Edwort's Pale ale (turned out fantastic)
All-grain Centennial Blonde (looks ok)

So basically I have 3 styles in the fridge. I would like to brew at least one different style so that I can give away 4-pack carriers for Christmas. What's a fairly easy style/recipe that I can have brewed before Christmas, and I won't likely screw up? Are IPA's hard? I've never used liquid yeast or made starters before.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2011, 03:58 PM   #2
Taypo
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I work in Richardson, live in Wylie. Just fired up a brown ale last night after dropping a couple hundred bucks at HomebrewHQ for gear upgrades and ingredients. Seems to be quite a few of us in this neighborhood.

Once this batch clears out of primary, we're going for porters and holiday ales for the next couple months. Eventually, its going to cool off out here and I'd like to have some fall beer ready for it...

Primary: Innkeeper
Secondary: Dawson's Kriek, Wee Heavy
Bottled: Spiced Holiday Ale,
Drinking: Moose Drool Clone, Irish Red, Oaked Whiskey Vanilla Porter, Milk Stout, NB Innkeeper Kit (West Yorkshire), NB Mild Ale (West Yorkshire), American Wheat
Planning: Irish Red, Patersbier,

Old 08-31-2011, 04:08 PM   #3
browndawg
Recipes 

I would go with a brown ale. They seem to be forgiving of noobie mistakes

Just curious what made you move to all grain when your extract beer wasn't turning out good? Seems to me you would wanna master extract brewing before making the leap to AG.