Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What are some of the mistakes you made...where your beer still turned out great!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2013, 04:15 AM   #741
BansheeRider
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Fermented with nottingham yeast at almost 80 degrees, best honey porter I've had.

Good judgement comes from experience, experience comes from bad judgement.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2013, 03:11 PM   #742
MMJfan
Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 44

One other major mistake I made was back when I was a newb, I had 2 beers fermenting in buckets at the same time. I failed to label them thinking I could just tell the difference. One was a wheat and one was a blonde. My plan was to add apricot puree to the blonde and dry hop the wheat. Well, when fermentation was done and I went to add my secondary additions, I couldn't tell which beer was which so I just guessed. Well, I guessed wrong and I got an apricot wheat and a hoppy blonde ale instead.

The beers still turned out OK, but it was just not what I was shooting for. Needless to say, I label all of my buckets now so I don't make this mistake again!

Old 06-15-2013, 06:40 PM   #743
Brunobearbo
Recipes 

I had two pots of water, one clean boiled top-off water, the other just warm water with an dirty can of malt extract sitting in it to warm it up.

After I was ready to top off my primary, I grabbed the wrong pot of water and dumped it in. I could see all floaties and dust pour into the primary and figured it was toast.

Two weeks later, it was one of the best wheat beers I had ever made.

Old 06-15-2013, 09:49 PM   #744
Rhumbline
Recipes 

Liked 200 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 105