Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What should I brew next?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2012, 05:44 AM   #1
mmsb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default What should I brew next?

Hello from San Bruno, CA

I'm new to home brewing and recently started out with a 1 gallon kit from Brooklyn Brew Shop, (Everyday IPA) needless to say I've caught the home brew bug and have since brewed a Bourbon Dubbel (1gal.) and a Red Ale (2.5gal). The IPA turned out great and the BD was bottled last week. I'm heading to my LHBS tomorrow to pick up supplies and grain for another batch and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for a different style.

I'm brewing 2.5 gallon batches of all grain and I'd love to clone Ninkasi's Tricerahops, Bells Two Hearted Ale (I'm originally from Michigan and went to college in Kalamazoo) or find a recipe for a crisp, hoppy, balanced IPA.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2012, 06:05 AM   #2
jbaysurfer
Former future HOF Brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 506 Times on 374 Posts
Likes Given: 828

Search the site for those beers. They scale directly. If you want a 2.5G batch and the recipe you find is 5G, just scale the malt and the hops by .50. You can find those beers. I had a bottle of Tricerahops last night. That's a fine Imperial IPA right there! If you're doing extract and only find an AG conversion, just post it up here and I'll convert it for ya. Deal?

This is the fun part. Picking a beer you like and making something just as good...or better (it happens!).

First Brew was thanksgiving 2011, I'm at 103 batches and counting (as of 11/11/2014), and ran out of room in my signature to list them all.

Old 08-24-2012, 06:09 AM   #3
jbaysurfer
Former future HOF Brewer
Recipes