Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What kind of priming sugar do you use?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2009, 03:39 PM   #1
alexavery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default What kind of priming sugar do you use?

I'm still very new to this. I'm wondering what most people use for priming sugar. I will use whatever came in my Midwest recipe kit. I assume this is household cane sugar. What do you all use?

I've seen that the kits at northern brewer can be upgraded to corn sugar. What's the benefit of doing that?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
brewmasterpa
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

dextrose of corn sugar is best to prime with. ive used cane sugar before to prime and the results are incosistent, plus from what i noticed, i always had a weird twangy off flavor from the cane sugar. id use dextrose.

ill keep my money, guns, freedom, and religion......you can keep the change.

You like fishsticks, what are you, a gay fish?

Old 03-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #3
elkchsr
Recipes 

Does anybody prime by using unfermented wort?

Old 03-26-2009, 04:22 PM   #4
SumnerH
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexavery View Post
I'm still very new to this. I'm wondering what most people use for priming sugar. I will use whatever came in my Midwest recipe kit. I assume this is household cane sugar. What do you all use?

I've seen that the kits at northern brewer can be upgraded to corn sugar. What's the benefit of doing that?
Almost none. There's no taste difference, and they'll both carbonate just fine. Cane sugar works fine if you measure it by weight (you need a little less weight than with dextrose aka corn sugar).