Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What is importance of hops acidity?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2014, 03:11 AM   #1
lonlonmilklover
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What is importance of hops acidity?

I am still very new to brewing, and have only brewed one beer, a Brown Ale w/ Raw Cacao Nibs. I was hoping for a bready brown ale with mild chocolate flavors. What I got was a medium bodied brown ale with earthy spicy notes, very enjoyable but very very mild chocolate flavors. I'm told in the future for more chocolate flavors I might want to use roasted nibs, not raw.

That being said, I'm shooting to try a chocolate porter, but I don't want any bitter hops flavors to come through - I'd love to have either a graham cracker or nutty hops profile with a good chocolate flavor from roasted nibs, if such type of hops exists... I may research fermenting with a touch of honey, cinnamon, and nutmeg in addition, but was looking at this hops chart to help me decide what hops to use for a chocolate beer:

http://www.onebeer.net/hopschart.html

I noticed this chart gives Acidity of hops, and was concerned what importance the acidity of the hops would be when experimenting?

Many thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2014, 11:40 AM   #2
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 746 Times on 625 Posts
Likes Given: 238