Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What to expect in taste or body change in finishing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2014, 05:56 PM   #1
grimes28
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 15

Default What to expect in taste or body change in finishing

I'm new to all this and just tasted my batch of red ale I screwed up. Lol it's been in fermentation for 4 days and is pretty much done. Pretty much quit bubbling and is at 1.012.
My question is, what do I expect it to do Orr change throughout the finishing or carbonation process. Anyone have any thoughts on this, or is this one of those "depends on recipe" questions?
Just looking for a general idea response.
Thanks guys!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2014, 05:59 PM   #2
nicklepickles
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 33

in my experience, itll go from "this tastes weird" to "this tastes like beer"

Old 06-07-2014, 06:09 PM   #3
KeninMN
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 36

I would leave it for at least another ten days. During these next ten days the yeast will clean after themselves, after which many cells will go dormant and drop out of suspension, clarifying your brew. Then, if your recipe doesn't require any dry hopping you can test the gravity, make sure it hasn't changed (or changed much) and if it hasn't you can bottle and allow to condition for at least another two weeks to fully carbonate.

Here is a good explanation of the process:

http://morebeer.com/articles/conditioning

Old 06-07-2014, 06:40 PM   #4
grimes28
Recipes 

A lot of great info there! Thanks!
Lol well right now it does taste weird.

Old 06-11-2014, 12:57 AM   #5
isuflyguy
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 9