Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What do I do with this yeast fuel?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2008, 08:32 AM   #1
FSBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What do I do with this yeast fuel?

I bought an ingredient kit and it comes with a vial of 5g of BrewVint Yeast Fuel. The liquid yeast that the kit came with is dead (tried a starter already) so I am going to use dry yeast. The kit instructions don't say anything about the yeast fuel. How do I use it? Should I use it? Shake it in when I rehydrate the dry yeast?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2008, 08:44 AM   #2
jtrage
Recipes 

I am new to brewing, but from the two batches I brewed up, I think you throw the yeast fuel in the wort as the boil is wrapping up.

Old 06-21-2008, 09:01 AM   #3
FSBrewer
Recipes 

Hmmm.... I'm a newbie too, but also a purist, and I'm thinking all that wonderful malt should be fuel enough for the yeast. What's this yeast fuel made of anyway?

Unless I get some strong opinions in the next 60 minutes, I think I'll skip it this time.

I'm brewing a double bock by the way.

Old 06-21-2008, 09:17 AM   #4
EvilTOJ

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Who do you expect to be up in the middle of the night? Oh wait, you're probably across the pond. Yeast fuel is used primarily for wines and meads, where nutrients aren't as scarce as they are in beer. If it were me, I'd save the yeast fuel for if you ever make a mead, it will be very beneficial. Yeast fuel is primarily vitamins and minerals, and also yeast hulls. Supposedly yeast hulls help new yeast buds grow faster.

There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."

Old 06-21-2008, 09:48 AM   #5
FSBrewer
Recipes 

Strange, I wonder why they included it in the kit. It's an Austin kit. At any rate, thanks for the posting, I'm gonna skip it.