Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What conditions cause autolysis - yeast death and rupture?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2013, 04:16 PM   #11
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4956 Times on 3588 Posts
Likes Given: 1002

I'm no expert on the subject, but my understanding is that autolysis is exacerbated by temperature. That is, a warm temperature would encourage the breaking down of the cells. Pressure, too, so it might be hard to do it at home without ruining a big batch of beer.

One way to experience the "meaty" smell and taste of autolysis is simply to rack out your beer, and keep an inch or two of beer on the yeast cake and put it someplace warm for two or three weeks. That should do it.

Some winemakers do age sur lie- but it those cases, the lees are regularly stirred. That gives the wine a certain je ne sais quoi, but not a bad flavor. If the lees weren't stirred, though, that would create more of a bad off flavor. At least that is my understanding from winemaking.

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2013, 04:19 PM   #12
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2304 Times on 2005 Posts
Likes Given: 1717

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynachrome View Post
I was wondering if there was an under-pitch factor going on maybe. The yeast were stressed from starting with not enough survivors in the packet. ?

Re-hydrating with a little fermentable would give a higher pitch rate too, right?
Dry yeast contains more cells than liquid yeast packages. They seem to account for losses when pitching dry. But not from the packet. It's from losses during rehydrating in the wort,which increases lag time as well.