Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What cold crashing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2013, 03:47 AM   #1
Brew2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default What cold crashing

I'm new to brewing. Just doing my 3rd batch. This is my first one that I'm not doing a secondary. Is cold crashing something that I should do? Thanks for the help

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2013, 03:48 AM   #2
dawgmatic
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 6

How long has it been in your primary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
People's brains are interesting....and tasty too.

(See what I did tthere? ;))

Old 05-12-2013, 03:49 AM   #3
Brew2
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Only one week.

Old 05-12-2013, 03:52 AM   #4
dawgmatic
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 6

If your going to cold crash in the primary I would wait at least three weeks in order to make sure its completely done fermenting. Either that or take a couple gravity readings after 2 weeks to make sure the gravities stable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
People's brains are interesting....and tasty too.

(See what I did tthere? ;))

Old 05-12-2013, 03:54 AM   #5
dizzyfun
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Cold crashing is done to help particulate settle out and clear the beer, kinda like lagering. If you don't care about beer clarity you can skip this step. During the winter I'll normally place the carboy on the garage floor. Have not cold crashed during the summer yet. Not sure what I'll do since I don't have a fridge large enough to put it in.

"The immediate bubbles were your yeast screaming in pain" ~ Freisste

"Straighten out a wire coat hanger and put a small hook in the end, just big enough to fit thru the hole in your bung." ~ Huesmann

Old 05-12-2013, 03:55 AM   #6
meltroha