What cold crashing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew2

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing. Just doing my 3rd batch. This is my first one that I'm not doing a secondary. Is cold crashing something that I should do? Thanks for the help

If your going to cold crash in the primary I would wait at least three weeks in order to make sure its completely done fermenting. Either that or take a couple gravity readings after 2 weeks to make sure the gravities stable

Cold crashing is done to help particulate settle out and clear the beer, kinda like lagering. If you don't care about beer clarity you can skip this step. During the winter I'll normally place the carboy on the garage floor. Have not cold crashed during the summer yet. Not sure what I'll do since I don't have a fridge large enough to put it in.

Lot of variables there, sg? Did you take a fg? Has it floctulated? Cold crashing is good, I almost never use a secondary, except with oak chips. Depending on sg, should leave in primary at least two weeks.