HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > What are the basic steps and pitfalls in simple mashing?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2006, 06:31 PM   #1
mew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts

Default What are the basic steps and pitfalls in simple mashing?

I am fairly new to brewing, but making all grain batches intrigues me. I realize that I will have to start with partial grain, but I don't know much beyond crush the grains, steep in hot water for some period of time, and then sparge with hot water. Can someone set me straight on the basic steps please? Also, what is the purpose of these steps (in other words, what does it do to the grain)?

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2006, 06:32 PM   #2
Baron von BeeGee
Beer Bully

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

www.howtobrew.com

This is probably the best reference material on the web and will answer those questions and more.

Old 11-17-2006, 08:05 PM   #3
Todd
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mew
I am fairly new to brewing, but making all grain batches intrigues me. I realize that I will have to start with partial grain, but I don't know much beyond crush the grains, steep in hot water for some period of time, and then sparge with hot water. Can someone set me straight on the basic steps please? Also, what is the purpose of these steps (in other words, what does it do to the grain)?

Thanks

converts starch to sugar and if you are going grain go all grain. It is pretty easy.

Old 11-17-2006, 08:19 PM   #4
BeerSlinger
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mew

Thanks
I'm new as well, and even though I should probabily be mashing as well because those are my favorite flavors.......its far too complicated to just jump into......