The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Water profile for a Rye IPA?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2010, 07:50 PM   #1
JBrady
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default Water profile for a Rye IPA?

Hello I'm brewing Edworts Rye IPA in a few days and am wondering what water profile to use. This will be the first time that I alter my water and I'm not sure what goes well with this style of beer. I was thinking either Moshers Ideal Pale Ale or Burton On Trent. Which would you prefer?

Also I read somewhere that you can get away with just adjusting the mash water and not the sparge water. Being that its my first time I would prefer this simpler process. Can I get away with just adjusting the mash water and sparging with unaltered distilled water? If I can do this, do I adjust only the 4.6 gallon mash, or do I adjust the 4.6 gallon mash for a 6.5 gallon preboil volume? thanks for helping with these rookie questions, I'm trying to complete my crash course on water chemistry with only a few days before I brew.

Bottled: Janet's Brown, Session Dry Stout, Yellow Fly Cream Ale

Gallons Brewed In 2011-40

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2010, 08:06 PM   #2
KevinW
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I think your mineral additions really depend a lot on your water's initial profile.

If you can get a water quality report from you municipal district that may give you a good place to start. I have mashed with and without adjusting my sparge water and have yet to notice a difference, but that is my situation.

Either way I wish you luck and keep us posted on the results!

“I don't drink beer all the time but I can drink (a) beer anytime" - Me

Old 05-31-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
JBrady
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts