Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Very slow fermentation...Leave it?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2007, 06:10 AM   #11
EvilTOJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

A watery taste just after racking is normal, although I don't know the reasons why that is. To me, it only tastes like beer a few weeks after being in bottles.

There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2007, 04:34 AM   #12
smack
Recipes 

Please keep us posted as to how our beer turns out. I am relatively new to the game here and am having a similar issue. I have a slow start at least, as far as fermentation, with my recent batch. My primary is an ale pail and after 2 days there is less activity showing from the airlock than with my last few brews so I'm hoping this is not a bad sign and just a slow start to a normal fermentation. There was no activity for the first day and a half, but now this morning began to show a slow start of bubbles comming up. I dunno, I try to be super anal, but stuff happens I guess. This is also the first time I used a smack pack which didn't quite inflate all the way (no starter either) and I think that has something to do with it.
Anyway, if your beer turns out after all you have been thru, I will feel a little better about my own.
I hope it works out! I hate the thought of beer going bad. Good luck!

Old 04-03-2007, 02:14 PM   #13
BierMuncher
...My Junk is Ugly...
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 607 Times on 353 Posts
Likes Given: 230

FWIW, I checked my Belgian Wit last nigth after 4 days in the primary. Huge krausen and substantial blow off, but the gravity has only dropped 7 points and the beer is still sweet. All show and no go so far. Patience is a virtue.