Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Using a pumpkin as a fermentor?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2011, 10:48 PM   #1
tremorfan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Using a pumpkin as a fermentor?

Hey guys,

I'm a relative newbie (I've only brewed 5 or 6 times), but I have an idea that I just can't get out of my head. I want to incorporate my homebrewing into our Halloween decorations, and I'm thinking about buying a huge pumpkin and using it as a fermentor for a Pumpkin Ale.

First of all, I know that your typical jack-o-lantern pumpkins aren't the right kind for cooking with, so I plan to either bake some pie pumpkins or buy canned pumpkin for the flavoring. I just want to know if it's feasible to hollow out a pumpkin and ferment in it. I'm really excited about the decorative possibilities (creative airlock with spare tubing and food colored water bubbling away, etc.).

I'm also interested in whether a pumpkin might provide sufficient insulation to ferment outside (by protecting the beer from temperature swings while maintaining a relatively cool average temp.)

But what problems can you foresee with this?

This is the point where I place my youthful inexperience and naivete at the feet of your collective brewing experience and wait to have my idea shot full of holes.

Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2011, 10:50 PM   #2
rancidcrabtree
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I have no idea if that would work or not but it sounds awesome! Please post pics if you decide to go ahead with it

Old 10-04-2011, 10:50 PM   #3
WhineinAlbany
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I swear I've seen pictures of someone do this once . . .

Old 10-04-2011, 10:54 PM   #4
rancidcrabtree
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts