Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Understanding hops in boil and fermenting..?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 01:21 PM   #1
SamHain
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Understanding hops in boil and fermenting..?

OK...Im just trying to understand better how and when hops impart their flavor.

During the boil you add your hops and you get flavor. After the boils is done,yeast is pitched and the fermenting starts...do the hops that you added during the boil continue to flavor the beer?

Im not talking about dry hopping either...just the boil hops.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 01:33 PM   #2
HibsMax
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I am a novice so at this point I am still in the stage of regurgitating what people have told me and what I have read as opposed to using my own experiences....but this is what I was told.

You add hops to the boil to add bitterness. You add hops after the boil for flavour. That's probably a little simplistic but that's what I am going on for now.

EDIT : to answer your actual question, I wouldn't think that the hops added to the boil would continue to add flavour because you remove them after the boil - either strain them out or take out the bag they were in.

Old 04-05-2012, 01:35 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4658 Times on 3383 Posts
Likes Given: 916

Once the hops are boiled, for whatever length of time, they don't impart any more flavor. You can strain them out going to the fermenter, or you could leave them in there, and not notice a difference in the end result. They are "used up", so to speak.

Old 04-05-2012, 01:47 PM   #4
SamHain
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Yeah HibsMax Im a novice too(obviously)...In all my brews so far I have just left the hops in there...I may start using a strainer into my fermenter.