BrewHardware Giveaway- Winners Drawn - 24 hours to claim!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Under-carbed and Apple Taste

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2012, 01:54 PM   #1
txaggie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Under-carbed and Apple Taste

I know, another newb, under-carbed thread.

I just joined this forum after lurking on it for a few weeks. I started brewing my first batch a little over 6 weeks ago, an extract kit for an amber ale. I ignored the instructions and let it sit in the primary for a bout 17 days (OG was ~1.040, FG before I bottled was ~1.008), then I bottled it and it has currently been in bottles for 4 weeks. used kit instructions, it was a homebrewers.com kit.

I first tried the beer from what was left in the bottom of the bottling bucket after we bottled the beer. At this point, I did not detect any green apple taste. It just tasted like flat beer.

After 2 weeks in a bottle (I know it was early), I tried it and suddenly it had a strong green apple taste to it and very little carbonation. After 3 weeks, it had less of a green apple taste and very weak carbonation. I tried it again yesterday (4 weeks) and it still has a green apple taste, although less so and is still incredibly under-carbed. No head retention whatsoever.

From what I have read, the only thing I think I can do for the carbonation is shake up the bottles and get the yeast back in suspension, assuming there is enough sugar. Is this a good idea.

What is causing the apple taste? Why was it not detected after primary fermentation but suddenly popped up now?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
FreshZ
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

What did you use to carb?

Primary: Nothing
Primary: Nothing
Secondary: MVP (Manly Vanilla Porter),
Bottled: Cali Common, I.P.K., CTZ SMaSH yeast experiment, FUBAR IPA, Barleywine, Columbus Day Milk Stout, Narwhal ESB...