Trying to make Smirnoff Ice (or similar) - after 10 days not so yummy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dna_alexov

Reaction score
I'm new to the homebrew thing. Recently got my 4 tap beer tower all plumbed to my four cornies - now I need to fill them with some good stuff.

I've now made a total of two beer batches - one was done about 3 weeks ago and is not bad at all - the other is still in the primary and will be ready soon.

I thought I would fill one corny with a Smirnoff Ice type drink. I did some searching on this forum and found a few interesting recipes. Below is the recipe that I started on Feb7 (w OG 1064) and just transfered to carboy yesterday at 1012. I tried a sip during the transfer and it really did not taste very good. It is hard to describe, but just not nearly sweet enough and does not taste like lemons, cranberry or anything - rather it is kind of sour.

Can you guys look at my recipe and let me know if anything looks odd, and whether it is normal for the stuff to taste bad after only 10 days? Perhaps I should add a ton more sugar or lemonade or cranberry??? Let me know.

RECIPE:

1) boiled (more like steamed) 4 litres of water with 3 lbs of liquid malt extract with 2 lbs of dextrose and three camdon tabs and mixed well until lite boil (until everything was dissolved)

2) in primary I then added 3 cans of frozen lemonade, 1 can of frozen pink lemonade and 3 cans of frozen cranberry (all with no preservatives) and then added my boiled extract (noted above) plus water to fill primary to 18 litres.

3) I then sprinkled champagne yeast on top, covered and left alone for 9 days (OG was 1064)