The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > True Brew Nut Brown Ale - Final Gravity Question, and maybe infection?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2013, 01:35 AM   #1
jwetzler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default True Brew Nut Brown Ale - Final Gravity Question, and maybe infection?

hey all this is my first time to post on this site, and also my very first time to home brew.

I recently got the True Brew Nut Brown Ale kit (partial mash kit), and it has been fermenting for almost 2 weeks @ about 69F - 71F. I put it all in the fermentor and pitched my yeast on 1.5.2013 about 11:45pm cst.

My OG was 1.053. My FG is 1.017
According to the true brew instructions my final gravity should be between 1.012 - 1.014

I have checked the gravity 3 days in a row, and it's at a steady 1.017. Is it ok to go ahead and bottle, even though it's .003 higher than what the instructions call for? Will this small discrepancy keep my beer from carbonating after bottling?

Also, there are these brown bubble patches on the top of the beer, is this normal or possibly infected? They were big originally, but now they have shrank considerably.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 01:49 AM   #2
jwetzler
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

A couple of days ago:

Tonight:

Old 01-19-2013, 02:02 AM   #3
defdans
Recipes 

This probably wont answer your question, but I made the same exact thing on 12/30 and my gravity is right around 1.015-1.016 as of an hour ago. In all likelihood i will bottle tomorrow night. Maybe that kit is just a little off on the final gravity?

As far as infection, have you tasted it? I didnt see those big bubbles you pictured with mine, but then again i never opened mine until tonight. Mine looks pretty similar to your last picture. Youre probably fine.

Old 01-19-2013, 02:23 AM   #4
jwetzler
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote: