The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > totally new to homebrewing - feeling overwhelmed

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2011, 07:33 PM   #1
Catalina
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default totally new to homebrewing - feeling overwhelmed

I'm new to homebrewing. I haven't even bought a kit yet. I have been a big beer girl for a long time yet and want to take my hobby to the next level. But I'm already feeling overwhelmed with all the details. How can I begin in the shallow end and not feel like this is all hopelessly over my head?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2011, 07:35 PM   #2
BendBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 67 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Quote:
How can I begin in the shallow end and not feel like this is all hopelessly over my head?
Buy a kit. Throw out the directions and find new ones here. If it were difficult, I wouldn't do it.

Old 03-24-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
Hellfish76
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Most LHBS have brewing demos that they put on from time to time. Attending one of those is a great way to see the brewing process and realize that it isn't all that scary of a process.

The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing by Charlie Papazian is a good book that will explain everything step by step.

I promise you that if you can boil water and keep things sanitized (not as hard as it sounds) you can make beer.

Old 03-24-2011, 07:40 PM   #4
ayoungrad
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

IMHO, I think you should get a kit and buy Palmer. Read the sections in Palmer that are necessary for a kit (which isnt much). Then brew according to that.

Once you do this, then come back to this site to read and post.

Otherwise it would definitely feel overwhelming.

Old 03-24-2011, 07:42 PM   #5
BendBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 67 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23