Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Too Low of Specific Gravity

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2008, 04:29 PM   #1
Brewkowski
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default Too Low of Specific Gravity

So, I'm pretty new to brewing, just put my third batch into secondary. I'm using extract kits so far I've done a California Common, Belgian Ale,and currently working on a Oberon clone from my local store. I did some experimenting and I added about a 1cup of brown sugar to the wort, just to test on alcohol% and effects on the body of the beer. It spent two weeks in primary and everything looked good, lasted almost a week (I suspect because of the added sugar). Well I just went to put it into secondary and my readings don't look good right. At 70 degrees the specific gravity reading is 1.020 with an alc% around 3 and balling around 5. I've checked it twice with about the same results. What might have caused this, and is ther anything that can be done to repair it. So far it tastes OK.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2008, 04:30 PM   #2
malkore

Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 9

What was the starting gravity reading? and what was the recipes's expected OG?

Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10

Old 08-24-2008, 04:32 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Well without knowing the FG of the recipe we can't help, or the ingredients...to me 1.020 seems fine...I mean that is the absolute top end of my bottling range...