Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is it time to move my brew into the second fermenter?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2010, 05:46 PM   #1
s4nder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Is it time to move my brew into the second fermenter?

Hello everybody! 7 days a go I started brewing my first beer ever. I chose Coopers european lager (probably should have started with an ale : /). The beer has been fermenting for 7 days at 19 C . The problem however is that i wasnt able to hermeticly seal the fermenter ( the CO2 is leaking out somewere). I know that cuz there hasnt been any bubbeling in the airlock. I am however been able to observe the brew through the lit ( plastic taped on the top of a 40L milk container ). There has been lots of foaming earlier but for the last 2 days it has died out and i can now see the surface of my brew. So what you people think? should I wait, or is it ready for kegging?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2010, 05:54 PM   #2
BrookdaleBrew
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Most people here would tell you to just leaving be in primary for another 2-3 weeks and then rack directly to the keg.

PS: I'm pretty sure all the coopers kits come with ale yeast anyway, so you're probably good there.

Old 09-15-2010, 05:56 PM   #3
broadbill
Recipes 

Liked 315 Times on 223 Posts
Likes Given: 222

My thoughts:
1. You have a lager kit, but you fermented at Ale temps (19C).
2. God knows what yeast Coopers includes with their kits....hopefully it was ale yeast since that is how you fermented it. If it was lager yeast, then you should expect some real off-flavors from fermenting way too warm for a lager.
3. Airlock bubbling isn't a reliable indicator of fermentation...take a hydrometer reading.