The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Testing Gravity

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2012, 02:53 AM   #1
Jonnymack123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Testing Gravity

I have a lot of questions because I not only worry about every little detail pertaining to everything, but I'm also new to homebrewing (i.e. I haven't attempted it yet, but I'm getting ready to). How do you test the gravity of a beer in the primary fermentation vessel without introducing oxygen to the system? Or do you just pop of the air lock/cork, test it, and then allow the yeast to "push" the oxygen back out? Do you guys just test it after the primary fermentation appears complete or do you test it earlier on and more often? Is it okay to dump the tested beer back into the fermentation vessel assuming that the devices used to test the gravity were sanitized? Also, the gravity of the beer should be near its final gravity when you move it to secondary fermentation correct? I hope all of these questions make sense... THANKS!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 03:02 AM   #2
TNemethy
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Just sanitize and rack out a sample. Get your reading and go from there. I would make sure gravity reading is stabilized for 2-3 days before transferring. As far as oxygen you will introduce so little it's a non issue. This hobby is no where that scientific to worry about small amounts of oxygen. People frequently "swirl" their wort to stir up the yeast a little to ensure fermentation is complete prior to transferring

Old 01-18-2012, 03:02 AM   #3
Hopper450
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I just pop the lock briefly and take a sample with a sanitized wine thief. I do this as infrequently as possible, but as often as necessary. The goal is to minimize oxygen exposure but you are unlikely to ever eliminate it completely.

Old 01-18-2012, 03:04 AM   #4
Hopper450