Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Temp Controllers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2008, 01:47 AM   #1
memphomaniac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Temp Controllers

I'm a noob and haven't brewed my first batch yet (well, since starting again after almost a decade). I'm having fun collecting equipment, though. I've read some threads on here that have discussed various temp controllers, but I thought I would ask about my specific situation. I have found two Sanyo 4912s on CL. I want to use one as a kegerator eventually and the other as lagerator or a fermenting cabinet. Which temp controller would be good? Someone suggested the Ranco on eBay, and I've read about the Love and seen the Johnson (that's what she said). I'm not so good at wiring, but I suppose I could learn. Any thoughts?

If there's a good thread on here I'm missing, I apologize and please direct me to it.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2008, 01:51 AM   #2
Choguy03
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

The ranco's are nice because all you have to do it plug in the fridge and you are set. That would be the best way to go. I have a love controller and really like it because for $50 it is digital and has some nice extra features. You can control how warm you let the temp get before turning back on (dead band) and can adjust for any temp differences.

:Fermentation Cabinet:

Primary: Bee Cave Bavarian Hefe
Secondary: Nothing
Bottled: Nothing
On Deck: Gumball Head Clone (Jekster)

Old 08-20-2008, 02:01 AM   #3
truckmann
Mann Cave Brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 15