Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Taking hydrometer samples from primary
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2010, 12:34 PM   #1
sgillespie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Taking hydrometer samples from primary

If I have a primary fermenter that has some significant head space, should I be concerned about taking the lid off and introducing oxygen when taking hydrometer readings?

__________________
sgillespie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2010, 12:37 PM   #2
COLObrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pea Green, Colorado
Posts: 2,938
Liked 56 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

No worries, co2 is heavier than air, just don't go whipping it up or anything and you'll be fine. Also, it's fruit fly season, so be carefull you don't trap one of those little nasties in there when you close it up again.

__________________

Newer, better, more streamlined sig as per the forum police.

COLObrewer is offline
ejearn Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taking Hydrometer sample during primary beutinbrew Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 21 05-25-2010 11:30 AM
Toss out hydrometer samples or put 'em back? nigel31 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 22 02-05-2010 11:08 AM
Broken hydrometer, read samples in a couple days? Jersh Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 03-01-2009 04:49 PM
Tasted my Hydrometer Samples - All OK NZGirl Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 12-24-2008 06:28 PM
Hydrometer Samples bluelou6 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 11-05-2007 05:33 PM