Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > stupid question with an easy answer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2009, 12:48 AM   #1
Funkmasterchilly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default stupid question with an easy answer

what does wit mean?? ex. cranberry wit ale. is it just a short way of saying wheat???

sorry i'm a newbie

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2009, 12:52 AM   #2
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 461 Times on 367 Posts
Likes Given: 17

It means white, actually.

Witbier is wheat beer, but not all wheat beer is witbier.

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

Old 03-17-2009, 12:54 AM   #3
woollybugger2
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

WITBIER
Wit, or white, bier is a pale golden, tart, refreshing style thick with sediment and with a high level of carbon dioxide. With the pale malts, unmalted wheat and lack of filtration it's no surprise that it bares some resemblance to German HefeWiesse. The greatest different between Wit and its German cousin is the addition of spices, classically coriander and bitter Curacao orange peel.

Consumed:#2 Hefeweizen, #3 SoHo Brown Ale, #7 Belgian Wit, #9 Belgian Amber
Bottled: #1 Trout Belgian Trippel, #4 Smoked Porter, #5 Apfelwein, #10 Bell's Brown Ale Clone, #11 Belgian Wit, #8 Wee Heavy
Secondary:#6 Trout Belgian Trippel
Secondary:
Primary 1:
Primary 2:
Primary 3: Empty
On deck: ???

Old 03-17-2009, 12:57 AM   #4
Funkmasterchilly
Recipes 

Ok thanks

Old 03-17-2009, 01:55 AM   #5
SumnerH
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Just since nobody's mentioned it, "wit" is the a Belgian style of wheat beer. Hoegaarden is the beer that's considered to have popularized the style recently.