Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Strong unpleasant bitterness

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2014, 02:49 PM   #1
Cockfighter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Strong unpleasant bitterness

Hi all,

I'm new to home brewing. I started with a couple of kit batches with hopped extract that turned out really great so I thought I'd move on to doing my own hop boil with extract.

Unfortunately the beer has turned out almost undrinkable. The beer has a strong bitter aftertaste that lingers in the mouth for quite a while. It seems to be different to the normal beer bitternes I'm used to. The beer smells great and the initial taste is good, but the aftertaste is like what one might imagine cigarette butt water to taste like. It's not nice at all.

Here's the recipe I used for my first extract hop boil beer:

Fermentables

2 kg Liquid Malt Extract - Weyermann Oktober Beer
2 kg Liquid Malt Extract - Weyermann Pilsen (late addition)

Hops

Amount Variety Type AA Use Time IBU
15 g Amarillo Pellet 6 Boil 60 min 9.41
10 g Cascade Pellet 6 Boil 45 min 5.76
10 g Cascade Pellet 6 Boil 30 min 4.82
10 g Cascade Pellet 6 Boil 20 min 3.8
20 g Citra Pellet 9 Boil 15 min 9.34
25 g Amarillo Pellet 6 Boil 10 min 5.69
20 g Citra Pellet 9 Boil 5 min 3.75
15 g Citra Pellet 8.5 Boil 2 min 1.13
25 g Amarillo Pellet 6 Dry Hop 5 days
25 g Cascade Pellet 6 Dry Hop 5 days
25 g Simcoe Pellet 6 Dry Hop 5 days

Total IBUs: 43.7
Fermentis / Safale - American Ale Yeast US-05

I had the beer in the fermentor for about 2 weeks before bottling it, where it has aged for about two and a half weeks. I know that the beer is still young... might the bitterness subside with age?
The taste was already there before bottling.