New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Strong (off?) flavor from US-05?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 09:35 PM   #21
onipar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 19

tre9er, thanks! I'm looking forward to what you find.

cosmo, now that I think about it, the pack of yeast I used for the cream ale was probably close to 6 months old. I did have it in the freezer the whole time, so I don't know if that's considered "old" or not.

NordeastBrewer77, thanks! I'm a horror writer (I think I've told you this before), and I really dig Fright Rags t-shirts. The one in the video is "cereal" killers: Loco Puffs.

That slight tart flavor mentioned in the video: I liked it. That's what threw me off for a second, because I was enjoying the beer more than before, and that new tartness seemed to mask that other flavor I had been tasting.

This is the one with US-05 at 63 degrees, so maybe that was from the yeast, as you said.

The cream ale was only a partial mash, and the American wheat was all extract, which makes me question the effect hard water really would have had then.

I'll PM you about a trade. Thanks again everyone for all the comments! I think we've got it at least narrowed to the yeast or water.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2012, 09:39 PM   #22
tre9er
Recipes 

Liked 230 Times on 195 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Don't think it was mentioned before, but what temp was the wort when you pitched? If the one yeast was in freezer, did it sit out for a while first? On repitches do you warm them up to pitch temp long before pitching? I think the banana flavors I had with chico might have also been due to pitching at 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekippen View Post
Open log Fermenting and gas-can secondary?? I am planning my next brew right now!!

Old 06-04-2012, 09:48 PM   #23
onipar
Recipes 

Quote: