Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > straining wort

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2007, 04:48 PM   #1
J-bone
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default straining wort

I'm a newbie. Made my first batch on Saturday Dec 1st. India Pale Ale from a kit, plus extra hops for more bitter. After it cooled down enough to add to the Carboy, I began quickly pouring it in. Then realized there was a ton of sediment, and that I should probably be straining it the whole time. I strained the last 1/4 of it, but there is an inch and a half of hops in the bottom of the Carboy. Is this ruining my beer?
Should I siphon it into another Carboy so that the hops aren't steeping way too much bitter into my brew? Or should I leave it the way it is to avoid upsetting the yeast or running the risk of contaminating my batch. There is good foam happening in the Carboy so far. I'm worried about undrinkable bitter beer.
Thanks
J-bone

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2007, 04:54 PM   #2
TheBone
Recipes 

Default Very interested to hear the answer to

this question. Did my very first batch on Saturday. I DID use a funnel which had a strainer. I was amazed how much junk was in the wort. It took a long time to strain the entire 1.5 gallons of wort into the carboy...

Primary:Northern Brewers Nut Brown, Northern Brewers British Bitter, Home Brewers Outlet Steam, Northern Brewers Honey Kolsch

Old 12-03-2007, 05:09 PM   #3
cheezydemon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

You will be fine. I have read several articles that point out that leaving hop residue in the primary or secondary actually helps the beer to clear. You can strain it going into your bottling bucket no problem, just dont get any splashing or bubbles.