Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Stirred my Wort on Third Day

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
StuOhQ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Stirred my Wort on Third Day

I'm generally freaking out now. I'm a complete beginner and started my first brew from a Brewer's Best kit. The prep and pitch went smoothly and airlock activity started the next morning. Then, after two days, the activity in the airlock stopped.

Being a complete newbie, I opened up my primary and stirred the wort vigorously to try and "restart" fermentation. Later, I read this could completely ruin my beer. It seems to have renewed the airlock activity, though, and I am planning on taking my first gravity reading (post OG) a little later.

How, and when, will I know if I ruined this batch? Is there any way to tell before bottling? Will the SG keep moving even if the beer has been "oxidized"?

Any help would be awesome. I'm really bummed that I messed up so badly.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 08:37 PM   #2
CKing
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

By opening up and stirring you exposed the beer to oxygen so you may end up with a sub-par result.
Many normal beers have airlock activity subside to a casual burp after 2-3 days of vigorous activity.

Old 11-19-2012, 08:41 PM   #3
GravyTrain77
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CKing View Post
By opening up and stirring you exposed the beer to oxygen so you may end up with a sub-par result.
Many normal beers have airlock activity subside to a casual burp after 2-3 days of vigorous activity.
Once the airlock stops after the first few days... what exactly is happening?

Old 11-19-2012, 08:42 PM   #4
mandobud16
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts