Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Starting Back Up, yeeeehawww!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
ChefJoeR
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Starting Back Up, yeeeehawww!

It feels good to be starting back up. I used to have a Mr. Beer back in college that fed me the brewing bug. After 11 years, I am back into it (long story) and bought a Mr. Beer Premium kit. I remember the beers that I brewed in college with the original, but can't wait to try the new ones. Just got it into the fermenter and coming up to a week now. I am going to follow this first recipe to the letter. I feel, as I start thinking about the next brew, that there are going to be some things I am going to change. Being a chef, I can never do a recipe as instructed, I always have to put my own spin on it (of course with the right research). I have purchased another brew keg and am going to use that as a racking keg, also I can have another beer style brewing, so there is no loss there! I am skipping the booster (considering it's just corn syrup solids which I have alot of for my gelatos at the restaurant) and using a dextrose or another type of inverted sugar. I might also change the yeast up, depending on the style that I am doing, but one step at a time. I thought about, like everyone else, upgrading to the 5 gallon systems or the better systems, but I like the compactness of the Mr. Beer and the ease of their recipes. Once I get my restaurant/brewery of my own, then you will know what's up!! Anyway, I am looking for people that have done upgrades WITH their Mr. Beer systems. In other words, still brewing with them, but doing small changes to personalize their beers. Like I said, I don't have a lot of time on my hands, anyone who is in the restaurant business knows this, so using the Mr. Beer system r