Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Start a Brew Rig on a Budget

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2013, 01:26 PM   #1
torontosudz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Start a Brew Rig on a Budget

I'm an enthusiastic beginner. I have a budget of up to $1k USD to get started - how should I spend it? Currently I have a 5g brew pot, an Ale Pail and bottling bucket, a 5g glass carboy and a few odds and ends (basic siphon hose, etc).

For now I'm doing extract brewing but I'm hopeful to graduate to partial or AG brewing at some point, after I have the basics down.

Old 11-06-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
Ddubduder
Brewing Addict
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Start with fermentation control and then full boil volumes. Get a chest freezer and a 15g pot. I'd then look to a chiller of some sort, quickly cooling wort would be your next best direction. I'd recommend listing to the Brew Strong podcast on equipment, they did a very good "what order should I buy stuff" segment and i have found it very true.

Old 11-06-2013, 01:38 PM   #3
jflongo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by torontosudz View Post
I'm an enthusiastic beginner. I have a budget of up to $1k USD to get started - how should I spend it? Currently I have a 5g brew pot, an Ale Pail and bottling bucket, a 5g glass carboy and a few odds and ends (basic siphon hose, etc).

For now I'm doing extract brewing but I'm hopeful to graduate to partial or AG brewing at some point, after I have the basics down.
If I were you, hit up this deal right now, to get a couple of more fermenters for a good price.