New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Sparging

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2008, 03:52 AM   #1
John Long
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Sparging

I'm confused about sparging. The book I'm reading tells me to sparge with extra water, then include that with the mash. Does this mean you don't add the full 5 or 6 gallons (depending on boil evaporation) to the mash? But instead combine both the sparge runoff and mash to make the full 5 gal batch?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2008, 03:53 AM   #2
Arneba28

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 6

The latter yes. The sparge collections and the 1st runnings will make the total of your preboil volume

Old 08-07-2008, 03:59 AM   #3
j_jones84
Recipes 

I'm a major beginner, but I set aside some filtered water out of my 5gal batch for sparging, so my 5gal mark depends that I added that sparging water.

Now for the real reason I replied, are you by chance the famous rock climber? And if so can I have your autograph? :P

Old 08-07-2008, 04:03 AM   #4
BrianP

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

The first runnings, which is very concentrated, will provide a couple of gallons. You then add additional very hot water (185+ is what I use) to rinse out the remaining sugars.

There are two basic ways to sparge:
a) fly - (think of a continuous shower of hot water gradually rinsing sugars away)
and
b) batch - adding water in one or more additions, stirring, allowing to rest a little, then draining.

The runnings from the sparge gradually become less concentrated. You then boil all of this collected wort.

Check out howtobrew.com for more info on the subject. It's a very well-written summary of all brewing topics. The print copy is even better.

Cheers,

BP

-------------------------------
Fermenter 1: Best bitter (1)
Fermenter 2: Best bitter (2)
Fermenter 3: APA
Fermenter 4: APA