Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Sourcing ingredients - Calgary

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2009, 05:07 PM   #1
mtags
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Sourcing ingredients - Calgary

I'm pretty new to making beer and would like to get out of the 'kit' stage. So i found a recipe for an IPA in the 'Homebrewing for Dummies' book, and took it to a home brewing store in calgary. They were very helpful in trying to track down what I needed, but in the end they said that the supply for hops is very poor and you basically have to grow your own.

Could some other brewers from Calgary let me know where they get their grains, hops and yeast. Or other Canadians let me know of online/mailorder companies they order from.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 05:29 PM   #2
blowmax10
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm not Canadian but check out Northern Brewer - I bet they ship to Canada

NORTHERN BREWER

Old 06-15-2009, 05:48 PM   #3
mtags
Recipes 

So are most people getting their ingredients shipped to them?

Old 06-16-2009, 09:36 PM   #4
FlyGuy

Recipes 

Liked 127 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Did you go to the Vineyard in south Calgary? I had heard that they were about to bring in an order of hops a couple of weeks ago.

Other than them, there is no place to buy fresh hops in Calgary. So if they are out, you will have to mail order.

I have ordered through most of the major online homebrew stores. Everybody has their favourite, but I like MoreBeer.com. They are happy to ship to Canada and will even 'go the extra mile' and send your stuff by US Postal Service. Don't purchase online from US retailers if they want to courier your purchase (otherwise you will be hit with a hidding $30 - $60 'customs brokerage' fee by the courier company when they show up at your door).