Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Silky tasting beer...help.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
Ryho
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Silky tasting beer...help.

Hey guys just kegged an american brown ale that I dry hopped for 15 days and made the mistake of adding the hops to my first fermenter instead of transferring to my second. I just pressurized my keg and force carbonated my beer and its tasting really off. The beer really has no smell to it either which is weird, it smelt better when I put the hops after fermentation....

If im not making sense this is my first attempt at dry hopping and first at kegging. Im just wondering if after a week the carbonation from the co2 will improve it since im used to using the priming sugar and enjoying it that way..

Should i trash this batch?

Please Help

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2013, 05:31 PM   #2
TCGoose
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 194 Times on 140 Posts
Likes Given: 14

First, don't trash it

Second, a 15 day dry hop is VERY long. I would max it out at 7 days (there are exceptions if course) because the hops will start to give off a grassy/vegetal flavor if they're in there too long.

If its the hops that are giving the off flavor then aging the keg a bit will reduce the hop flavor and aroma. I'm sure carving will help some as well

Also, not sure what you mean by silky tasting. That's usually a texture

Ryho Likes This 
Old 05-02-2013, 02:05 PM   #3
Ryho
Recipes 

Ya i really didnt want to dry hop that long but things kept coming up. A better way to probably describe the taste would be soapy? It has a weird finish that you need to swallow again to clean your pallet. Im almost wondering maybe when transfering to my bottling bucket I may of sucked up more of the sediment...

Old 05-02-2013, 03:29 PM   #4
TCGoose
HBT_SUPPORTER.png