Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Should I Make A Swamp Cooler

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2010, 10:18 PM   #1
balzern
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Should I Make A Swamp Cooler

Hey everyone, Noob here.

On my third batch (Winter Ale with Wyyeast 1728) and the temperature range for the yeast is 55-75. Made the beer yesterday and the airlock is bubbling pretty frequently. The temperature of the room is between 66-70 degrees depending on when my heat activates. The beer seems to be at about 67 or 68 degrees. I have never attempted making a swamp cooler but it seems pretty basic. I didn't know if I should try it or if I should leave this batch go with my current temperature ranges. If I should do it, would putting the fermenter in a large plastic bin, filling it a couple of inches with cold water, and then placing a t shirt over the fermenter and have it hanging into the water be enough? Also, how does mold develop as a result of the cooler? It is fermenting in a storage room in my apartment that is really dark.

Thanks,
N

Primary: None
Bottled: The Jabberwock - Cascadian Dark Ale, The Innkeeper British Bitter, Northern France Session Farmhouse Ale, Dunkelweizen, 19th Century Robust English Porter, English Brown Ale, American Cream Ale, Spiced Winter Ale

"All for brew. Brew for all."

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2010, 11:08 PM   #2
Centexbear
Recipes 

If you have a Target nearby, go buy one of these for $6.99 and get 4 plastic soda bottles It's an 18 gallon tub. You should definitely try it as controlling your fermentation temps is very important. No molds with this tub, water doesn't stink, etc. In fact my dog prefers gulping from the tub rather than his fresh water I put down every morning. DOH!