Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is secondary fermentation necessary with cloudy beers?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2011, 03:15 AM   #1
Hefanatic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Is secondary fermentation necessary with cloudy beers?

Hi All,

I am new to brewing and new to this forum. My first brew is a dunkelweizen. I am using a bucket for primary fermentation and a glass Carboy for the 2nd. With a cloudy beer like a dunkelweizen is it necessary to utilize secondary fermentation? I was told that it is primarily to help clear up the cloudiness in the beer. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Hefanatic; 07-20-2011 at 03:32 AM. Reason: Misspelling.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2011, 03:30 AM   #2
gratefuldisc
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Many people on here don't think secondary is necessary on any beer.Some only secondary when dry hopping or adding fruit. Personally, I haven't used a secondary in probably ten batches, and I get clear beer if I'm patient enough. But to answer your original question, def not necessary on a cloudy beer.

Kegged: Empty
Planning: not sure?

HopRiverAles (my blog)

Old 07-20-2011, 03:31 AM   #3
TopherM
Vinz Clortho - the Keymaster of Gozer the Gozerian
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 409 Times on 324 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Nope....no beer requires secondary fermentation. Even beer requiring clarity can obtain it with a good, long primary!!!!

Primary #1 - Oktoberfest
Primary #2 - Chamomile Honey Wheat
Primary #3 - EMPTY!
Secondary #1 - Downtown Flanders Brown (brewed August 2012)
Keg #1 - Coffee Vanilla Stout
Keg #2 - Fall of the Ukraine Baltic Porter (lagering in keg)
Keg #3 - EMPTY!
Bottled - NONE!

Old 07-20-2011, 03:31 AM   #4
lazarus0530
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts