Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > secondary fermentation in IPA necessary

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009, 10:16 PM   #1
scott422
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default secondary fermentation in IPA necessary

Hello.. will be making my first batch of IPA next. I am brand new to brewing and only bought a basic kit, that did not contain a secondary. How long should I leave my IPA in primary before botteling to get best end results? thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2009, 10:20 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4483 Times on 3261 Posts
Likes Given: 870

I like to leave my beers about 3 weeks in the primary. Does your recipe ask for some dryhopping? You can dry hop in primary, after the fermentation is over, for a week at the end before bottling. But it's a bit messier if you're not using a secondary! What is the recipe you're using?

Old 01-29-2009, 11:32 PM   #3
scott422
Recipes 

thanks I am a little paranoid being new to all this, I am using an extract kit (northenbrewer)that does not call for dry hopping. I didn't know it would hurt to leave in primary longer than the two weeks called for in the kit.

Old 01-29-2009, 11:35 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott422 View Post
thanks I am a little paranoid being new to all this, I am using an extract kit (northenbrewer)that does not call for dry hopping. I didn't know it would hurt to leave in primary longer than the two weeks called for in the kit.