Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Secondary Fermentation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2006, 06:02 PM   #1
PanzerOfDoom
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Secondary Fermentation

Should I be seeing any activity in the airlock? Taget gravity was reached in primary.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2006, 06:04 PM   #2
loopmd

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Not really. Secondary fermentation is pretty much a misnomer. It is more for settling and melding of flavors then it is fermenting.

loop

Old 02-13-2006, 09:54 PM   #3
Toilet Rocker

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

The secondary should not be underestimated, just because nothing is apparent. It makes a hell of a difference in your final brew. Things are happening beneath the airlock--you just can't see it.

When people ask what I do for a living, I say I brew beer. No, not as a profession, but to live.

Old 02-14-2006, 12:46 AM   #4
djmd
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaelone
The secondary should not be underestimated, just because nothing is apparent. It makes a hell of a difference in your final brew. Things are happening beneath the airlock--you just can't see it.
Absolutely true. I did about 7 or 8 batches before I used a secondary and it was probably the biggest improvement I ever made to my extract brews.

Old 02-14-2006, 01:01 AM   #5
alfista
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Interesting. My extract kit doesn't call for a secondary fermentation (true brew red ale). I brewed friday night and by sunday night I was getting few bubbles through the airlock. Should I move this to a second carboy for the remainder of the week or does that not get me anything?

Old 02-14-2006, 01:59 AM   #6
El Pistolero

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfista