Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Secondary fermentaiton question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2012, 03:08 AM   #1
rossscottnz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Secondary fermentaiton question

I am still learning how to brew I tired to make a couple of batches from kits two years ago which failed miserably one tasted like vinegar the other well it tasted absolutely foul as well the result I tipped the lot down the drain and got rid of my brewing gear. I have decided I would like to try again but this time with no kits and try to use all grain brewing.

Now for my question

with transferring/racking to a second fermentation vessel for secondary fermentation do I need to pitch extra yeast or add any extra sugar to the brew?. I know I have to add sugar when priming for carbonation or is this what the secondary fermentation is all about carbing up prior to bottling as well as allowing the beer to clear without yeast tainting the product, the last lot I did two years ago it was primary then add priming sugar to bottles then filling and capping the bottles then store to allow beer to condition, got all excited when it was time to taste my efforts to find I had brewed something the devil himself would refuse to drink.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2012, 03:13 AM   #2
freisste
Recipes 

Liked 294 Times on 245 Posts

If this is a standard beer (meaning no fruit, oak, other flavorings), don't rack to secondary. Just leave it in the primary for three weeks. Then ensure fermentation is complete with a couple hydrometer readings and bottle.

Old 10-12-2012, 03:17 AM   #3
iaefebs
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 239 Times on 173 Posts
Likes Given: 602

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossscottnz View Post