Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > second fermentation QUESTION?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
MRmac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default second fermentation QUESTION?

I am new to brewing and transferred to a carboy for second fermentation. There doesn't seem to be any action. I haven't seen any bubbles coming out of the airlock although the air is right at the edge of the inner piece. Does this seem right? Is it ready to bottle?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2010, 12:30 PM   #2
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 901 Times on 647 Posts
Likes Given: 1974

Hi Mac. Secondary fermentation is a confusing label, because for most beers, there isn't an active fermentation going on. The exception is if you add fruit or some other fermentable to your secondary and a "second" fermentation will kick off.

Many people here do not use a secondary at all for most beers. It's a matter of preference.

Whether you use a secondary or not, a good rule of thumb is to wait to bottle your beer for at least three weeks after your brew day. While you can safely bottle as soon as active fermentation is done, your beer will often be better if you give it a little time.

Cheers!

Old 11-21-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
MRmac
Recipes 

I did a hydrometer reading on day 7 and day 8 and the readings were the same. From what I've read I thought thats when you go to second fermentor. Did I jump the gun or was it done fermenting? There was a bubble every couple minutes in the airlock. Should I go to the bottle now? Could I add some honey or something to activate the yeast again?

Old 11-21-2010, 12:42 PM   #4
snowveil
that guy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 7